Over again.

Day 29. | Shreveport LA. | End: Texas Countryside | Mileage 1388.3

The sweat beads drip from my nose, tickling as they fall. I roll over to find the mat glued to my back, a sticky mess. The humidity is hanging on our shoulders tonight, heavy in the air. As the day comes to an end so shall the pain, the reminder that my body is only so strong. As we pressed on this morning leaving Shreveport behind and setting our sights on east Texas my knee began to quit. Denying the days work I was demanding, the pain set in and was excruciating. Lost for words, I could do nothing but keep on going, forgetting the pain and detach myself. Using music as my focus we made it to a gas station. Hiding from the sun that had to be so cruel today, we stuffed our faces with some sandwiches and rested. Dirk and I napped for some time, how long I don’t know. When we woke the sun was lower in the sky, giving us the green light to head to camp, the last stretch, the taste of dinner. A refreshing cloud rained a bit overhead, showing us nature can be both cruel and forgiving. A campsite has never been so inviting as tonight. Even with the crowds of people loud enough to wake the dead, I can find comfort… comfort in this hot tent, sweating as I type. With memories of the days that passed, I can fall asleep and be stirred by nothing.

7 responses

  1. Shannon

    WOW. A FB friend just had a post that he met yall somewhere in east Texas. I wanted to wish yall the best of luck. I will be following your journey!

    06/12/2010 at 18:13

  2. Mom

    stay safe!!!
    Am proud of you:)

    06/12/2010 at 13:57

  3. following the trip bro… keep it up!!!

    06/12/2010 at 06:53

  4. Ken Perry

    Hey Hey, skinny guy.

    Keep pushin!!!

    06/12/2010 at 03:10

    • Haha hey hey… I’m working on that whole eating thing.

      06/12/2010 at 11:59

Leave a Reply

