Luxury and laundry.

Day 32. | Hugo OK. | End: Durant OK. | Mileage 1586.4

I feel like a pampered pooch with a computer to type on, a full belly and the luxury of sleeping in a laundry room for the night.Ok I lied, the computer is not my style anymore, it is not the same. I seem to have taken a liking to typing on this small phone. A reminder I am on the road and that I can gather inspiration from random places I seem to end the day.

Leaving the comfort of the motel AC, we set off west. A line of storms was heading through the counties just north of us and we wanted to skip that thrill ride. As we made our way from town to town, most with a population count of no bigger than 570, we took the day hour by hour. The sun was taking a toll on us, ringing out every last drop of moisture. The salt crystals covered our clothes, shimmered in strange patterns as the sweat evaporated before us. We took shelter under trees, gas stations and grocery stores, even behind stop signs. Besides the typical deterioration of the roads and the amount of debris littering the shoulder, the countryside was becoming more and more beautiful. Today is the first day I can say I feel as if Dirk and I have reached a new climate region. Sure the south is associated with the swamps and we did hit some hills a ways back, but the vegetation is now something that reminds me of the west. Grass as far as you can see, hills and trees that seem to pop up only around water or in single file lines marking the border of the farms. The wind is coming from the south and it is quite annoying. It was like having someone constantly pushing you to the right, holding your balance as to not put the bike into the dirt.
As we rounded the final stretch, the only casualties happened to be one flat, a spoke and a skunk. I wasn’t the first to hit him, but I didn’t like the idea of being maybe the second. Oh and let’s not forget the regular bug in the mouth routine, I hate that.
Tired, hungry and frustrated we had to cycle south a few miles to get to camp, we rode into the most epic of storms. Like a mass of darkness looking to end life itself, it fast approached to greet us. We had a hell of a time getting the tent pitched and gear ready. The wind picked up so fast I thought our tent was going to take flight. With camp set and storm taking a turn north, we headed to the showers and jumped on a bus to grab some grub. Never have I enjoyed onion rings so much in my life, again a truck stop dinner lured us in.  As we returned I found the tent had an in-door pool now and another storm was fast approaching. Caught with a useless tent and nowhere to go, we began to ask the staff of the campground for ideas. The laundry room or designated “safe room” is actually kind of cozy with a television, air conditioning and a water fountain, why haven’t we thought of this before. A great spot to ride out the storm tonight and get more sleep. Not much worry will cloud my dreams.

5 responses

  1. I enjoyed doing laundry with you two and am jealous of your adventure! I wish you the best on your travels and if you get back to Durant give me a jingle and I will buy you dinner at Durant’s finest. KZ

    06/16/2010 at 05:55

    • Thanks, it was good talking. We are super jealous of your hiking trip. Haha we were just talking about how different it would feel to just have one bag…. not four. You have a good time and good meeting you!

      06/16/2010 at 10:55

  2. Sunny

    WTF? what is that video about? The sound of the birds chirping away in the background doesn’t match your crying. Sorry I woke you up to tell you my exciting news. I just wanted to share it with the man I love 🙂
    Love you! xx

    06/15/2010 at 01:45

    • …. ur lucky I can fall asleep in seconds lol

      06/15/2010 at 08:07

      • Sunny

        I see you changed the movie? Sound quality is still questionable… he he he. I love you!!!

        06/15/2010 at 20:32

Leave a Reply

