On the pony once more.

Day 55. Gardiner MT. | End: Clyde Park MT. | Mileage 3135.6

It is 10:36 pm and the horizon still glows with a hint of light. Because of this, I know we are close to jumping another time zone, another notch on the belt. Lying under the stars once more there is no need for a tent in a small Montana town public park.

Waking up this morning I knew it was the end of our mini vacation. Packing and sorting out items that we either no longer needed or didn’t want, our packs became a little lighter. With so much time on the road, I have come to know the things that are the most important and the things I can due without. It is just the nature of the journey and learning what can come in use. When in doubt leave it out, a saying I learned when hiking the AT where pack weight means everything.
We sat down for our last breakfast with Paul and Anschion and as we ate, I could tell Dirk’s ma was sad. Not very good with goodbyes, she tried to hold back tears as she gave us big hugs and watched us leave down the road.
The road was quite the scenic route, spotting mountain sheep and an array of other animals along the way. As we rounded turn after turn making our way down highway 89, the wind was there again to greet us. At times I would suspect my tire to be flat, looking down to investigate. As most of the first 15 miles were down hill, I couldn’t figure out why I was straining myself. A thought that was stirring in my head and then uttered by Dirk’s mouth, “Are we heading up hill?” A serious question as we were moving so slow on this downhill. Cursing the wind once more, we pressed on up and down the hills and back streets. Though a very nice view, nothing more to complain about.

3 responses

  1. Not sure what you are trying to do to the poor horsie there… Is that your sexy face? God I miss that face 🙂 ha ha ha. Love you loads x

    07/09/2010 at 05:37

  2. Kzoklahoma

    My in-laws were at yellowstone the same time as you and Dirk. I told them to keep their eyes out for 2 guys on bikes with saddle bags, one with a big beard and take them to dinner. Didn’t work put so well since the description matched about 100 people. Still tracking y’all. Godspeed, KOA Kevin

    07/08/2010 at 07:59

    • We are getting kinda grizzly with the beards Haha. So many cyclists and bearded men in yellowstone, it would have turned into a game of where’s waldo. Haha thanks Kevin, how did the hiking go?

      07/09/2010 at 02:07

Leave a Reply

